Advice Needed When Buying Refrigerators

I am quite new to cooling technologies and I have been pondering on the best refrigerators available locally trying to strike a balance between price and features like energy rating/consumption, cooling methods-here I know nothing would appreciate to be educated on the best cooling methods and the different types. Let’s just talk refrigerators let’s ignore the prices for the start let’s get to learn the basics from knowledgeable forum members then pricing after the basics. I’d also love to be redirected if there’s a topic on this in the forum let’s get learning coz I wanna shop refrigerators

I made a mistake of purchasing 320L Bosch like a year ago. I was naïve, but I took one for the team so that you don’t have to.

First things first, don’t look at power draw that a refrigerator pulls from the wall when in daily operation, focus on ERC rating that is calculated on yearly basis.

ERC rating gives you an idea of how many tokens your fridge will consume in a year. Mine is rated at around 450 units. I had an option of picking a Samsung rated at 340 units, but Bosch’s 100 Watts vs Sammy’s 110 dissuaded my silly me. How smart I thought I was…ever since I got this thing I have never paid less than 15bob per token to KPLC, I was immediately kicked out of 10 bob plan.

Don’t be like me, of all the refrigerators I have researched in Kenya, only Samsung has best power efficiency. Things might have changed since then, so go and compare ERC Ratings, the lower the star points, the more power you will pay for it.

Second, almost everyone knows this but get one with No Frost (also known as Frost Free) feature to prevent your freezer from clogging up with ice.

Third, get one with an automatic deodorizer to avoid odours in fridge. This feature has many names depending on brand. On Bosch it’s called AirFresh.