Safaricom's Home Fibre Issues Are Business-Related, Not Technical

I have been using Safaricom Home Fibre for two years now. Admittedly, the product was great for a very long time, until it commanded enough numbers to start playing with our hard-earned cash. The implications of the Finacial Act 2018 saw the service raise subscription fees, and to make it worse, Safaricom started throttling speeds sometime after November 2018. I noticed the issue as soon as the telco stealthy introduced speeds regulators where customers using Silver or lower plans would see the entire bandwidth dedicated to downloads, rendering other devices unconnected. Of course, I cried foul on our main site and was frustrated enough to give up.
I also met a member of the Home Fibre team who in January said the matter has been resolved (a lie), and when I insisted, I was told the best option was simply upgrade like I have the money to add to an already expensive product.
This issue has been discussed severally on Twitter by hundreds of people, and Saf avoids those threads because they know where the problem is.
Specific Routers
According to one Brian Njenga on Twitter, Safaricom struck a deal with Huawei to distribute custom routers for Home Fibre customers.
" What Safaricom did was to partner with Huawei to build routers suiting their business needs. If you pay for anything less than 20mbps(unrealistic for home use unless you’re a full-time gamer) you’re router allocates all available bandwidth the device downloading content," reads Brian’s tweet.
Brian further says that the issue can be bypassed if you get another router that has a QOS panel.
“The solution to avoid this is by activating Quality Of Service packet switching aka rate limiting on your router which Safaricom has intentionally removed from the admin panel so that whenever you call them they’ll tell you to upgrade your package,” he adds.
The Twitter thread can be read here.